The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel
The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel
NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award 2017
by

National Book Award Finalist

Winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award

Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award

Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award

Winner of the Bard Fiction Prize

One of the New York Times Book Review’s Ten Best Books of the Year

One of Granta’s Best Young American… (more)

National Book Award Finalist

Winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award

Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award

Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award

Winner of the Bard Fiction Prize

One of the New York Times Book Review’s Ten Best Books of the Year

One of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists

A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year

PEN Center USA Literary Award Finalist for Fiction

Longlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 

Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award

Named a Best Book of the Year by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, New York magazine, The Huffington Post, The GuardianThe AV Club, The FaderRedbookElectric Literature, Book Riot, Bustle, Good magazinePureWow, and PopSugar

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable. . . . I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

“Brilliant.” Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[Mahajan’s] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making.” The New Yorker

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.

 

Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

 

Publisher: Penguin (March 22, 2016)

Page count: 256 pages

File size: 640 KB

Protection: DRM

Language: English

Browse